You are here

Red Force drafts Da Silva, Smith

Thursday, May 24, 2018
North opening batsman Joshua Da Silva raises his bat at his half-century. He scored 79 during the T&TCB Inter Zone Seniors 50 Overs between North and South at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Tarouba on May 13. PICTURE ALLAN V. CRANE

St John’s, ANTIGUA – T&T Cricket Board has drafted two newcomers in Odean Smith and Joshua Da Silva when the draw for the 2018-2019 Professional Cricket League (PCL) was made yesterday at the Cricket West Indies Headquarters in Antigua. The proceedings took place under the guidance of Auditing Firm, KPMG when the pair was selected alongside Jeremy Solozano, Marlon Richards and Isaiah Rajah.

T&T Red Force head coach Kelvin Williams, whose team placed at the bottom of the pack in the Four-day regional tournament earlier this year said he's optimistic that the team will improve its chances with the “mix of experience and youth in the team. We think we have a rounded team and with the addition of a fast bowler, we think we will be competitive.”

Fast-bowler Smith of Jamaica who made his international debut in the historic T20 series against Pakistan earlier this year, and of and former T&T Under-19 player Da Silva of Queen's Park were outstanding in the T&TCB's Zonal 50-Over tournament.

Meanwhile, defending the Four-day champion team, Guyana Jaguars have assembled a strong team.

The Jaguars, having won four four-day titles back to back will be on the hunt for their 5th title, but won’t be complacent in their approach for the upcoming season. President, Anand Sanasie thinks “the continued investment we have made in youth to develop along the current system on a pathway to West Indies, continues to be the approach we will take. That has worked for us so far. We, however, expect the teams to be even more competitive this season and we think the mix of youth and experience will serve us well.”

The Barbados Pride which was second place in both the 4-Day and 50-overs formats has added what they call “an experienced fast bowler who we think will support the cast of the younger bowlers in the team. We think the draft went well for us,” according to Chairman of Selectors, Hendy Wallace.

Chairman of Selectors, Leeward Islands, Stuart Williams is also happy with the picks and thinks “the addition of the two fast bowlers and the younger players will create the balance needed for the team to improve its standings.”

Head Coach, Jamaica Scorpions, Robert Samuels thinks his squad is balanced, but he is more fascinated that “there are five other Jamaicans being picked up by other franchises.”

President and CEO of the Windward Islands Volcanoes, Gregory Shillingford, says “The players selected to form part of an overall programme which is developing, and they are confident in the process which has so far helped them to the win in the 50-overs format.”


CWI Professional Cricket League


GUYANA JAGUARS – Veerasammy Permaul, Leon Johnson, Vishual Singh, Chandrapul Hemraj, Gudakesh Motie, Tagenrine Chanderpaul, Keon Joseph, Anthony Bramble. Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

Draft picks – Ramaal Lewis, Christopher Barnwell, Tevin Imlach, Ashaya Persaud, Javier Spencer.

BARBADOS PRIDE – Anthony Alleyne, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Dominic Drakes, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Shayne Moseley, Shamar Springer, Haydn Walsh Jr.

Draft picks – Marquino Mindley, Kevin Stoute, Aaron Jones, Tevyn Walcott, Mario Rampersaud.

LEEWARD ISLANDS HURRICANES – Rahkeem Cornwall, Montcin Hodge, Jahmar Hamilton, Keacy Carty, Jeremiah Louis, Devon Thomas, Terrance Warde, Sheeno Berridge, Akeem Saunders, Ross Powell.

Draft picks – Damion Jacobs, Sheldon Cotterell, Oralndo Peters, Nelson Bolan, Jason Peters.

JAMAICA SCORPIONS – Nikita Miller, Assad Fudadin, Derval Green, Chadwick Walton, John Campbell, Brandon King, Paul Palmer Jr, Aldaine Thomas, Andre McCarthy, Fabian Allen.

Draft picks – Oshane Thomas, Reynard Leveridge, Kenroy Williams, Denis Bulli, Steven Taylor

WINDWARD ISLANDS VOLCANOES – Devon Smith, Shane Shillingford, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Tyron Theophile, Roland Cato, Audy Alexander, Shermon Lewis, Delorn Johnson, Alick Athanaze.

Draft picks – Kirk Edwards, Ray Jordon, Tarryck Gabriel, Denis Smith, Josh Thomas

T&T RED FORCE – Kyle Hope, Tion Webster, Yannic Cariah, Amir Jangoo, Denesh Ramdin, Imran Khan, Daniel St Clair, Bryan Charles, Khary Pierre, Jason Mohammed.

Draft picks – Odean Smith, Jeremy Solozano, Marlon Richards, Isaiah Rajah, Joshua Da Silva.





User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.