You are here

QRC’s Bedassie is Cricketer of the Year

Friday, October 20, 2017
Cricketer of the Year Narvin Bedassie, fourth from left, poses with adviser to the Minister of Education, Cheryl Ann Wilkinson, Amir Janghoo, who was named Sportsman of the Year, Mayor of Port-of-Spain Alderman Joel Martinez, Georgia Lee Gill, the Sportswoman of the Year, and chairman of the Secondary Schools Cricket League North Zone, Kelvin Nancoo at the award ceremony on Sunday at City Hall in Port-of-Spain.

Batsman Narvin Bedassie grabbed much of the attention this North Zone season and for that he was named the Cricketer of the Year at the league’s glitzy awards ceremony on Sunday at City Hall in Port-of-Spain.

In front of a large and appreciative audience with the Mayor of Port-of-Spain, Alderman Joel Martinez in attendance, along with Cheryl-Ann Wilkinson, advisor to the Minister of Education Anthony Garcia and Agnes Lara-Cyrus, sister of Cricket legend Brian Lara, Bedassie along with the leading players of this year’s competition were honoured.

The prolific Under-19 Queen’s Royal College (QRC) student stated that he was very humbled to be selected but he was even happier that his school Queen’s Royal College has returned to the highest level of Cricket at Secondary School level.

He said, “I am very proud to have been able to be an asset to my school and to ensure that we returned to the Championship Division, after a year in the Senior Division.”

Bedassie, the captain, led by example and marshalled his team to ensured that QRC returned to the top in Secondary School Cricket League. He scored some 500 runs for the season which included two centuries.

Martinez in his address commended all in attendance for being supportive of cricket and their children’s development.

He said, “This competition is the nurturing ground for our future and from what I see here today, cricket is in good hands.”

Amir Jangoo, a former student of Fatima College, was named the boys’ Sports Personality of the Year along with Holy Name Convent’s Georgia Lee Gill, getting the award for the girls.

However, the T&T player Jangoo, had the honour of being inducted into the North Zone Cricket Hall of Fame.

The Chairman’s award for the Most Destructive Player of The Year went to Leon Bassano of St Mary’s College (CIC). His school emerged the champion of the Under-13 and U-14 Divisions.

Last year’s champion Fatima repeated in the U-16 Division while QRC claimed the senior boys’ title. St Francois Girls won the girls’ title with Holy Name Convent as runner-up.

Fatima and CIC were joint winners of the U-17 Knock-out title with Tranquility Government and Diego Martin North being joint winners of the U-19 competition.

In the Girls U-15 Knock-out, Holy Name Convent stopped St Francois while Success Laventille edged Tranquility in the Flow U-19 competition.

In the Powergen Knock-out competition, CIC continued its great form with wins in the U-14 and U-15 divisions.

Chairman Kelvin Nancoo lauded brothers Dwayne and Darren Bravo, Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard for making the awards ceremony a success.

Nancoo said, “Our former players, national and international has shown that they will always assist cricket and youth development and I thank them sincerely.”

He also lauded Paul Clarke for another superb ceremony before warning that “those who want to be serve must be selfless and always put the students and the sport first”.

North Zone development team to tour USA

Sixteen U-15 cricketers of the Zone have been selected to tour the United States next year as part of a North Zone development team as guest of the Atlantic Regional Cricket Board.

The group of players making the trip in next August include Jeremie Cruickshank (Fatima), Zachary Siewah (Fatima), Joshua James (Success), Suraj Rampersad (CIC), Requelme Harewood (Diego North), CIC vice captain Mathew Gittens, QRC captain Sachin Emrit, Jemel Perez (Diego North), Johnathon Ward (QRC), Rashawn Rampersad (Woodbrook Secondary), Gerald Chin (CIC), Mahendra Harryman (Trinity), Rene Lucio (Diego North), Chaedon Ramond (Fatima), Jahrud Nedd (CIC) and Jesse Butts (Fatima).

Aaron Kirbanali will coach the unit with Dwayne Davis operating as his assistant coach and trainer. Other officials are Kashif Sandy (manager/Tour umpire), Allan Neptune (assistant manager/Tour liaison) and Randy Baliram (security/photograher).

All players and their parents and officials are asked to attend a meeting on Saturday in the T&T Cricket Board (TTCB) office at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain from 9 am.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.