You are here

Alexander shows his class

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Adam Alexander (Team Foundation) showed the expectations of an endurance rider as he endured till the end in the curtain event of the night, the 15km Scratch Race (60 laps) when the 2017 Elite & Under-23 National Track Cycling Championship pedaled off at the National Cycling Centre, in Balmain, Couva on Thursday night.

After 30 laps of the race Alexander, Jovian Gomez (PSL Cycle Club) and young Lorenzo Orosco (Team DPS) making his Elite category debut attacked from the main pelethon and maintained that position.

That was until Alexander excellerated again and lapped the main field causing Gomez and Orosco to work hard to just keep their positions with Tyler Cole and Akiel Campbell also working hard to close the gap into the 30th lap.

However, at the final ten laps these positions would now become challenged but Alexander once again opened a lead and endured to be the eventual winner with Gomez taking silver although Tyler Cole placed in front of him but couldn’t have a medal as he too like Orosco are Juniors, and Akiel Campbell (PSL CC) the bronze.

Campbell also picked up the gold medal as the Under-23 top finisher.

The women’s scratch had a promising field of young cyclists making their debut and Teniel Campbell (PSL Cycle club) who has dominated this category for 2017, made sure she was taking home the national title with the Costa sisters Jessica and Alexi (Heat Wave CC) now following in the steps of their father Guy Costa and mounting the podium for silver and bronze medals respectively. Action continued last night at the same venue and will resume today from 11am with the first session followed by an afternoon session

Thursday’s results

4km Men’s Team Pursuit

1. Team PSL CC ( Varun Maharajh, Akil Campbell, Philemon Justice, Jovian Gomez)—4:31.760 mins

4KM Women’s Team Pursuit

1. Mixed Team (Alexi Acosta& Jessica Acosta/Heat wave CC, Alexandra Bovell/ Unattached, Christiane Farah/Breakaway CC) – 5:24.931 mins

Men’s Team Sprint

1. Rigtech Sonics ( Njisane Phillip, Keron Bramble, Jude Codrington) – 47.151 secs

Women’s Team Sprint

1. Breakaway CC (Kollyn St. George, Dominique Lovell) – 38.215 secs

2. Canadian/ Unattached & Team DPS ( Alexandra Bovell, Tamiko Butler) – 39.389

3. Heat Wave CC ( Jessica Costa, Alexi Costa) —42.299

Women’s 10KM Scratch Race (40 Laps)

1. Teniel Campbell (PSL CC)—15.30.000 mins

2. Jessica Costa (Heatwave CC)

3. Alexi Costa (Heatwave CC)

Men’s 15 KM Scratch Race (60 Laps)

1. Adam Alexander ( Team Foundation)—19:17.009 mins

2. Jovian Gomez (PSL CC)

3. Akiel Campbell (PSL CC)