You are here

Gabrielle Hosein

Monday, April 16, 2018
An attuned ear hears a shackle when it falls. It’s a surreal sound, when an instrument of inhumanity hits the ground broken, clanging with its iron weight of history.
Monday, April 9, 2018
Twenty- year-old Christine Chuniesingh lost her life to intimate partner violence this week. She won’t be the last woman for the year to die at the hands of her male partner.
Monday, March 19, 2018
I got home very late from work and ready to collapse only to find the bed under a low-hanging, tent-like sheet, apparently making a ‘fort’.
Monday, March 12, 2018
Class has always been an issue in the women’s movement.
Monday, March 5, 2018
Women, this week, speak your truth. March through Port-of-Spain on Thursday, March 8, at noon, continuing a 60-year tradition started first by Christina Lewis in San Fernando.
Monday, February 26, 2018
Zi came home from school with minor injuries. A boy had pushed her down making her bleed from her knee. Another day, one kicked her in the neck, somehow, and it hurt her for a week.
Monday, February 19, 2018
Minshall mas was an iconic meeting of national colours, the red confined to the band’s massive banners while all else was the white of sailor mas combined with deep blackness of God’s omniscient eye.
Monday, February 12, 2018
Typical of Carnival for every one of her seven years, Ziya has been falling asleep hearing soca on loop through day and night, as loud as the chorus of crickets, frogs and barking dogs outside, but dr
Monday, February 5, 2018
There are some ways of wielding power that should end a political dynasty, for they are so cynical, manipulative and unethical that collective disgust should rise up with toppling momentum.
Monday, January 29, 2018
Last year’s politically-astute megahit touched a deep chord in people’s spinal cord.

Pages