You are here

Negotiations begin with energy companies

Thursday, June 21, 2018

A government team yesterday started negotiations with energy companies BP and Shell. The first of the meetings took place with bpTT officials, to be followed by a meeting with officials of Shell on Friday.

The negotiating team is led by Energy Minister Franklin Khan and includes Stuart Young, Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister; Wendell Mottley, chairman, Energy Task Force; Mark Loquan, President, NGC; legal consultant Richard Beckles; Vishnu Dhanpaul, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Financ; Richard Jeremie and Leroy Mayers, advisers to the Ministry of Energy. The team also includes representatives of Poten & Partners and White and Case LLP.

The meetings are a follow up to discussions held in London in April by a team led by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on energy related issues.

Arising from those discussions, Prime Minister Rowley had agreed with the energy companies to the establishment of empowered negotiating teams to meet at the earliest date to begin discussions on these issues and their finalisation with an agreed time frame.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.